City and Province enter into MOA about roads

The City of Cape Town’s Urban Mobility Directorate has entered into a Memorandum of Agreement with the Western Cape Government’s Department of Transport and Public Works that will see several roads classified as divisional and minor roads within the municipal boundaries devolved to the City as the new road authority.

The Memorandum of Agreement concludes a lengthy process which will transfer responsibility of the affected roads to the City’s Urban Mobility Directorate as the new road authority. This will allow future municipal road issues to be handled by a single authority and will streamline the management of these roads in Cape Town. This includes easier implementation of road upgrades, effecting necessary road closures and creating road links to improve traffic flow.

A de-proclamation process which includes extensive public participation via the Western Cape Government’s Department of Transport and Public Works is under way and the transfer will formally come into effect once this process is concluded. In total, some 137 roads of approximately 224 km in length will fall under Urban Mobility’s management.

‘Urban Mobility is committed to incrementally improving public transport infrastructure and operations in Cape Town, and this devolution allows us to be more responsive to our road users’ needs. The MOA will mean that we are better able to maintain a quality road network and this will have a positive effect on transport, which is a key factor in promoting economic growth. We welcome the Western Cape Government’s cooperation in helping us achieve this important aim,’ said Councillor Rob Quintas.

Members of the public can report any road-related matters to the Urban Mobility Transport Information Centre on 0800 656 463 or alternatively via the City’s Call Centre on 0860 103 089.

Source: City Of Cape Town