City honours residents in Neighbourhood Watch Awards

Today the City of Cape Town’s Safety and Security Directorate hosted the annual Neighbourhood Watch Awards acknowledging the important role that neighbourhood watch groups play in communities.
Nominees, individual patrollers, NW teams, and winners of the various categories were amongst those who attended the awards in the Council Chamber, Civic Centre.
The awards also acknowledge the important role of NWs play between the City’s enforcement agencies and the community.
The nomination process which started in August and closed on 6 October 2022 saw members of the community participate in the nomination process and submitted award applications for individual members/patrollers or an entire NW team in various categories.
‘The City is deeply appreciative of the community service spirit and volunteerism of every neighbourhood watch member across Cape Town. Our neighbourhood watches make a big impact on preventing crime in communities, and demonstrate the very best and highest ideal of active citizenry. In a caring society, we look out for each other and the bond of trust that these groups build with their respective communities is incredibly valuable. The City of Cape Town is doing everything it can within its resources and ability to make our City safer for all residents and you are supporting our efforts,’ said Cape Town Mayor Geordin Hill-Lewis.
The following patrollers and NW teams took to the podium as category winners:
NW Member of the Year: Shannon and Dylan Pike, Wynberg East NW
A member who upholds, with outstanding achievement, the purpose of safeguarding its members and property.
Organisational Excellence: Celeste Olivia Maclons, Nerissa NW
For excellence in NW management.
Mobiliser of the Year: Elmarie Raubenheimer, Harlyn NW
For exceptional efforts to mobilise communities in support of safety.
Inspiration of the Year: Stanford Grass, Stephen Road NW
NW leader who has displayed inspirational public leadership.
Crime Fighter of the Year: Zuhair Moosa, Nerissa NW
For exceptional, professional and committed service.
Courage in Action: Nicole Lynn Jacobus, Carola NW
In recognition of sustained NW operations in the face of highly compromised community safety
NW Group of the Year: Strand NW
An NW that upholds, with outstanding achievement, the purpose of safeguarding its members and property against crime and other safety concerns.
Situational Crime Prevention Award: New Horizon NW
In recognition of exceptional efforts towards a clean, healthy and safe environment.
Social Responsibility Award: New Horizon NW
In recognition of a commitment to addressing mitigating and healing social ills, towards healthier, inclusive and united communities.
Courage in Action Award: Ottery Safety Patrol NW
In recognition of sustained NW operations in the face of highly compromised community safety.
‘Today’s awards is in recognition of the dedication and perseverance of neighbourhood watch groups in assisting our enforcement agencies in creating safer communities. Neighbourhood watch patrollers are also ambassadors and fulfil an important interface role between communities and the City of Cape Town. We would like to say thank you to each and every patroller who gave up their spare time to make communities a safer place. The City stays committed to providing training, guidance as well as crime prevention and patrol equipment to neighbourhood watches. I hope that these awards will be a motivation to other communities to also establish their own watch groups so that we can all do more to serve and to protect our residents,’ said the City’s Mayoral Committee Member for Safety and Security, Alderman JP Smith.

Source: City Of Cape Town